People Now Wear Western-Style Dress Such as Suits and Jeans Rather than Traditional Clothing

It is common to see many people across the world adopting the dressing style of the west and neglecting traditional outfits. There are multiple reasons behind this, and it has both merits and demerits. One of the significant reasons behind this trend is the advancement of information technology. To be precise, media showcase the adorable aspects of western style, which reaches a wider population than in the past because of technological advancements. In addition, there are people who think that wearing this would uplift their social status and dignity, and some wear jeans and suits as they feel it is comfortable or their jobs demand it. When analysing the positive sides of this trend, people who wear western outfits report that it gives them a sense of confidence and freedom. To be clearer, many traditional outfits are designed and worn in a complex way, but this is not the case of western dress. Moreover, it should be seen as a step towards uniformity. When the dressing style becomes standard and uniform in nature; it brings a sense of equality among people. The most prominent criticism of adopting this habit is that it can lead to cultural dilution. To explain it further, each culture has its own identity, and this identity is usually reflected by its dressing style and the customs. The intrusion of western culture would dissolve such unique features, the critics point out. Of course, there is some truth in this. Another problem is that in many geographical areas, the climate would not be suitable to wear western style outfits. To conclude, it is clear that technology and individual preferences are the main reasons why a growing number of people prefer western dresses to traditional ones, and the trend has both positive and negative impacts when looked from different angles.