people moving to the cities

Nowadays, with the growing desire for a better life, more and more people are moving to the city without acknowledging the unfortunate consequences for themselves and the city. The risk of fast urban growth is that the necessary infrastructure often cannot expand fast enough to keep up with residents’ needs. Without infrastructures in place to provide basic needs, residents can be forced to live in slums and create their provisions with whatever is available. Densely populated slums, which form both on the edges and within the city, appear to have deadly conditions with practically no sanitation, water, urban amenities, security, and too close physical proximity for infectious diseases. When combined with environmental problems from the burning of trash, disposal of waste, and deterioration of urban landscape, these issues create a poor quality of life for dwellers, which desires urgent measurements from the Government. There appear some solutions that are worth considering. One long-term solution is to replace industrial parks in the suburb, which offers a great amount of land for the construction of both factories and residential areas. The living expense in such regions is more affordable for low-income residents, which attracts more people to this area. Besides, it is an opportunity for the city to expand and build up more infrastructures. Furthermore, Government should upgrade transportation in the rural areas for people to get a smooth commute and save themselves a bit of money. In conclusion, I think overurbanization is threatening not only humans but also the environment. It seems to me that the aforementioned solutions are worth considering.