People live longer today and so people should stay in the workplace longer.

Nowadays, in comparison to the past, we are witnessing that the life expectancy of human beings is increasing in most countries. The inevitable question which has always caused heated debate among experts is whether this longevity should lead to working longer. I firmly disagree with this view and believe that this trend will cause some problems such as youth unemployment and loss of productivity. I will elaborate on my opinion in the following paragraphs. First of all, the most significant reason is that the late retirement policy causes irreparable unemployment in the short run. Hence, when older people, due to living longer life, remain in the job market, the opportunity for the young to achieve proper jobs will be decreased. For instance, in this case, the mentioned policy was implemented in Iran, about five years ago, has implemented in Iran, and building upon the data released by the statistical Statistical center of Iran, youth unemployment is dramatically increasing over these years. ConsequentlyThat is why the high unemployment rate has become a major concern across the country. Therefore, late retirement, due to the higher life expectancy, would have negatively affected youth employment. Secondly, as people get older, their productivity in the workplace naturally drops. In fact, working beyond the retirement age damagingly impacts the efficiency of the factory or company. A university in Iran conducted an experiment on how increasing the age of workers affects companies’ performance. More than thirty companies took part in this study. They were divided into two categories. The first group included fifteen companies most of whose employees were under 60; another group was the companies most of whose employees were above 60. Eventually, Researchers found out the rate of efficiency in the former is approximately three times more than the latter. Thus, when employees work after a certain age will damage the companies’ efficiencies. In brief, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that, without a doubt, life expectancy is rising all over the world. Meanwhile, some people believe that because of this growth, employees should work longer. However, in my opinion, late retirement not only increases the unemployment among the young but also decreases the performance of the old.