People in major cities suffer from high levels of air pollution that causes health problems for many. Why is it the case? What can be done to solve this problem?

The human development caused numerous detrimental impacts on the environment, one of which is the air pollution. The problem of air pollution is mainly found in the cities which causes various health problems in locals. This essay will discuss the main causes of air pollution and how this problem can be addressed in cities. The industries and private transportation are the backbone of the cities for financial growth. However, these factories and vehicles run on coal and petroleum products which causes huge amount of carbon dioxide emission in the environment which is the major cause of air pollution. For example, a report was published by the city of Victoria showed that more than 60% of air pollutants comes from personal cars and factories combined. Consequently, we can say that internal combustion engine based personal cars and industries running on coal are the main causes of air pollution in cities. There are number of methods can be adopted to address the problem of air pollution. Firstly, the government should build effective public transportation system, so that people can avoid using personal cars to meet their daily travel needs. This can be done by providing frequent train or bus services, additionally, these services should be based on electronic or hybrid systems to cut off the air pollution. Secondly, more taxes should be imposed on the petroleum-based cars and subsidies should be provided on the electric cars to encourage people buy environment friendly cars. Finally, strict rules and regulations should be implemented on factories owner to control the air pollution. To conclude, the main causes of the air pollution in major cities are the internal combustion engine-based personal cars and the industries on coal-based fuels. The carbon footprint in air can be reduced by the encouraging people to use public transport and buying electric cars and implementing strict bylaws on industries regarding air pollution. I also recommend that government should fund the new researchers who work on developing new technologies to replace the conventional internal combustion engines.