People born today can expect to live longer than people in previous generations. What are some of the positive and negative implications of this phenomenon?

These days the life expectancy is higher compare to the earlier generation in the light of the fact medical science is discovering new ways to beat the incurable diseases. Decrease in old population mortality rate has some cons and pros itself. On the positive side, people have ample time after retirement to explore the world and enjoy with their grand kids. They can be a pillar of their family and teach their son/daughter the important lesson of life. For example, an individual spend most of the time earning money in his young age and did not find time for his family, however, after the age of 55 most of the people spend their maximum time at home or visiting new places. On the negative side, in old age human body do not perform as good as it work in young age, consequently, aged people always need someone to support them. For example, after an age people can not walk or stand on their own feet then they need personal support worker or an old age home which puts extra expense on government. Additionally, Some people who don not have any other source of income they work even after retirement period, as a result, youths get less opportunity to find a decent job. In conclusion, I would say higher life expectancy is a blessing for other family members because old people can share their knowledge with them but it could be a curse if body stop functioning properly after a certain age.