An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

It is becoming increasingly popular among schools to encourage students for using electronic gadgets such as laptops and tablets for their academics instead of assignments and printed books. Students are having various merits and demerits of this new style of learning which I will discuss in the upcoming paragraphs. The major benefit of using electronic media for studies is to prevent the load of carrying books around by the students. In previous years, Children used to get heavy bags which were full of books with them while going to school. This made quite fatigue and tiring experience for learners. For instance, many health professionals have shown that load of learning materials can lead to drooping of shoulders among school going children. Moreover, using tablets and electronic books made children more intelligent to get more knowledge about the technology. Consequently, Using tablets and computers can lead to less stress and more knowledge of technological media among learners. On the other hand, this trend has also brought some drawbacks such as excessive use of technological mediums for learning could cause poor eyesight. Many students spend a lot of their time on tablets while studying that ultimately cause headache and eye straining due to the harmful radiations of these devices. Secondly, It is hard to focus more while working on electronic gadgets because of the lack of concentration. Consequently, this trend lead to adverse effects on academic performance of a student. In conclusion, using laptops and tablets instead of paper books have both advantages and disadvantages for learners. Using technological devices for learning help students to lessen their burden and to grasp more knowledge.