Nowadays teenagers mostly spend time playing computer games rather than sports. What are the reasons for this? How can parents cope with this issue?

In this era, almost all of human activities need digital medias or gadgets for daily use. Technology also increased rapidly time by time because of that many applications and online games arise, therefore lot of teenagers prefer to spent their time for playing online games rather than exercising. According to research report, gaming is social for most teenagers so most of them are connected with their friend through online games. The main reason why teens prefer to spent most of their time to playing games is because gaming was found to be a meaningful and purposeful activity, also they could make friends with new people. Beside of that, sometimes they believe doing sports only waste energy and time. Playing games also have both positive and negative impacts in gamers lives. The negative impacts mainly occurs when people using game as a coping strategy for other life stressors, but for the positive impacts they could manage their individual emotions, getting lot of experiences, relieve stress, and find out diverse disposition of people. Then, what kind of things that parents should do in order to faced this issue? I think parents should giving some advice if their child being really addicted with online games, but advise them in the right way and not restricted their child as long as still equitable. All in all, playing games not only caused negative impact for teenagers as long as they use it properly and appropriately. Although some of them prefer to playing games, they still have to do some exercisss or sports in order to maintaining whole body health.