People are usually confronted with huge amount of advertisements in their life from competing companies. How do you think the advertising industry influences people? And what measures can be adopted to counter the risks of disastrous effects?

It is true that nowadays people are surrounded by advertisements from companies of all kinds. In my view, these advertisements have influenced potential customers in negative ways and mitigations can be implemented by the industry to minimize these effects. To begin with, frequent adverts, especially on social media, are usually annoying when an individual is not interested in the product or service. For instance, frequent pop-ups about a political party can appear on platforms like Facebook, Twitter or Snapchat during election season. This, however, is not fair to audiences who do not support these parties. Consequently, this will make the users lose the morale of these social media platforms. It is also worth noting that, promotions of games can encourage users to download the game; to cite an example, candy crush had been made attractive to an extent that all viewers of the adverts end up downloading the game. As a result, a lot of time is wasted playing making the player less constructive on other duties. Despite the above disadvantages, promotions can be controlled by limiting the audience; to illustrate, Youtube kids do not show addictive mobile game ads that targets adults thus avoiding teenagers wasting their time on meaningless games. Furthermore, targeted ads can tailor the content of the adverts to individual taste. For example, Facebook utilized research to display adverts that are based on individual interests. In conclusion, it is my opinion that adverts negatively affect individuals, therefore they should be controlled by applying the suggested solutions.