People are surrounded by advertising which has an increasing effect on our lives. Do you think the positive effects of this outweigh the negative effects?

It is true that commercials are ubiquitous nowadays as a consequence of which lifestyle of masses is greatly influenced. While these promotions arise some problems in society due to indulgence of business minded mentality of companies, I believe it is an imperative tool to raise awareness among public to become selective in this era of inflation. On the one hand, there are some drawbacks of watching these promotions. Firstly, advertising appeals make people use articles and younger generation try to imitate buying habits of celebrities and sometimes pester their parents to do so as a result they fall prey to fast food adverts and get allured towards unhealthy food which results into problems like obesity, juvenile diabetes etcetera. Another concern hike in price of goods which can be commonly seen these days because the cost of commercials include exorbitant prices of celebrity hiring and all other expenses like print media, venues and support staff which are ultimately borne by the customers. Finally, advertisements during the breaks between programs deviate the concentration and reduce entertainment value of program. For instance, adverts which are popped up while surfing causes aversion among people and reduces the popularity of that particular website. On the other hand, it has more benefits associated with this phenomenon. First and foremost, advertisements serve as a mean of raising awareness about any social issue. For instance public awareness regarding pulse polio immunization and female foeticide through different television and radio channels has proved to be vital in eradicating these problems from certain nations. To add to it, they provide information about any product which help the potential customers to increase their knowledge as it is always hard for people to buy new product without knowing anything about it. These adverts also give chance to customers to compare and contrast price and features of same type of products by virtue of which they can get them at reasonable price and better quality as modified features of any product gets unleashed to users. Ultimately, these endorsements make shopping easier and also eliminates unnecessary risk taking for buyers which facilitate easier decision making at point of purchase. In conclusion, no doubt there are few disadvantages associated with the announcements which people bound to see everywhere, the advantages which these bring to public are far more useful for society.