People are surrounded by advertising, which has an increasing effect on our lives. Do you think the positive effect of this outweigh the negative effect?

Advertisements have become a part of our lives. We can witness it everywhere be it television, radio or hoardings on the roadside. It is very powerful and persuasive medium. I believe that, the benefits of ads overweigh the detrimental effects. To embark on, the commercials we see on the television have many advantages in our daily lives. Firstly, we get to know about a lot of new products from the adverts itself. Secondly, individuals finding suitable job or college can find it through the commercials given by various colleges and organizations on different platforms such as print media and audio visuals. Moreover, advertisements provide us with plethora of options regarding all the commodities necessary for the household or any other purpose. For instance, the brand promotion of different mobile phones provides the buyer with all the essential information related to the features and price. Therefore, the consumer can purchase according to his own taste, preference and budget On the contrary, advertisements also have some disadvantages in the lives of people. Commercials persuade people to buy unnecessary things because it might seem appealing to the individuals. In addition, some ads show people performing difficult and risky stunts which seem alluring to the children and might affect their mindset and consequently can result in the offsprings copying the same. Furthermore, ads even forges a lot of confusion by promoting numerous options. For instance, the renowned shoe brand 'Nike' has a multitude of options to choose from and as a result people end up buying more than required. To conclude, I reiterate my opinion that, the merits of advertisement overshadow the demerits. The onus is on us to find our actual needs and not be swayed by the adverts.