Penguins can make an ideal pet

Keeping exotic animals is very popular and some people consider getting a penguin, since it is one of the most uncommon and therefore eye-catching creatures. I do not think, however, that it is the best choice. To begin with, being wild animals, penguins require an artificial habitat, which is difficult to create and costly to maintain. Low temperatures, ice and snow covered surfaces, water reservoirs for swimming and diving - all of this is essential to a penguin. To add to this, providing food for such a pet is not an easy task, since in spite of their cuteness penguins are voracious predators that need to be regularly provided with stocks of fresh fish. Finally, unlike cats and dogs, penguins are unaccustomed to people and it prevents them from having and expressing tender feelings for human beings. However, there is an opinion that all the impediments mentioned above are vastly outweighed by the penguin's lovable appearance and the effect they may have on the owner's friends and acquaintances, thus enhancing the prestige of the proud possessor. But although the charm of these birds and their ability to make an impression cannot be denied, I think that these qualities are less important than being emotionally attached to the master and easy to look after. In conclusion, having a penguin might be a positive experience, but as the creature is highly demanding, I would label it a challenging pet rather than an ideal one.