New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that children spend a significant amount of time playing with the latest technological gadgets. While some might argue that there are multiple drawbacks to this pattern, I would argue that the benefits outweigh any disadvantages. On the one hand, when children waste their time playing video games or browsing the Internet, there are two significant implications. Firstly, these habits lead to less contact among children and to a sedentary lifestyle, which these games promote. This means that children do not have enough time to participate in outdoor activities which are important for their proper growth and social interaction. Another factor that contributes to health issues is people spending too much of their leisure time on computers or cellphones. For example, if they stare at a screen or monitor for long periods of time, they can suffer from vision problems which are harmful to their mental health. On the other hand, I agree with those who feel that the benefits outweigh any potential drawbacks. The most significant is that, unlike in the past, children nowadays have a number of options to spend their free time. New technologies allow children to expand their awareness through interactive apps in this case. Kids, for example, can learn more about nature by watching the Animal World channel rather than listening to the radio or reading the newspaper. Another thing to remember is that the Internet not only offers a plethora of valuable knowledge with only a few mouse clicks, but it also lets children make friends from all over the world via chat rooms and social networking sites like Facebook or Instagram. As a result, emerging innovations allow young people to build a broad network of virtual peers while also improving their self-study. In conclusion, I contend that the benefits of this pattern outweigh the disadvantages.