Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree.

Employees are asked about their personal details such as their hobbies, personal interest, and their marital status by employers while applying for jobs. Several people believe that providing the information is relevant while many vary with this. I agree with the statement, personal relationship affects a lot on companies progression and his colleagues. An individual who has a keen interest in sports may reflect that he can be a good team player and have leadership skills. he may also represent his institute in that sports. Hobbies and choice of interest reflect an individual's personality. Hiring an air hostess having young kids would not be beneficial for the company. As she needs to work in odd timing and may not be available for a couple of days. Marital status is also an important factor in a company's hiring. A single person would be available on weekends and would also work overtime while a married person would not be doing either of these due to their responsibilities. There are some incidents where a person is abused mentally or harassed due to their caste or race. Providing personal information may lead to this type of incident. Many a time a person is not able to secure a job due to their religion or their relationship status. To sum it up, personal information is relevant for employers but sometimes it may end up being in false hands.