Parents should take courses in parenting in order to improve the lives of their children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is generally believed that good parenting is one of the essential factors in moulding a pro-active young generation in the society. Some recommend formal courses in parenting to accomplish this goal. I too think exactly the same. The fundamental reason behind my argument is because of the fact that today’s parents are not giving much significance to proper parenting. To be precise, instead of spending quality time with their children, they are concentrating in earning money. They think that if they have sufficient amount of money, they can satisfy the needs of their children in a better way. Therefore, they naturally have to work for longer durations, which would eventually result in the shrinkage of their personal space with their children. Another reason why I strongly recommend a formal parenting course is because of the lack of knowledge among the modern parents regarding bringing up a child. In the past, people used to be in joint families, where parenting was not at all an issue. There were always provisions of child supervising from one or the other senior member of the family: whether it was parents, grandparents, uncles or nieces. They shared their good experiences regarding parenting each other and children acquired good qualities from them. However, today, the family size has shrunken and the good parenting techniques are hardly shared to parents. There are some who might argue that parenting is a natural skill, which can be hardly taught. I do not think that there is much truth in this because today’s generation is well-adopted to professional approach of learning, irrespective of the field of study. To conclude, though there are questions regarding the need of professional parenting courses, I think, the current situation really needs it.