Some expert believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Several linguistic specialists propose that the commencement of learning a second language at primary school is more beneficial for adolescents than secondary school. Although the suggestion is plausible, there are also following drawbacks of acquiring a foreign language at an early age. Thus, this essay will elucidate the reason why learning a new language in primary school has more negative sides than its advantages To commence with, it is much easier for children to acquire new languages than adults. To elaborate, the learning part of children’s brain is developing, which will stimulate their curiosity. Therefore, learning a second language at an early age makes it easy for adolescents to embrace something unfamiliar, whereas adults tend to have difficulty acquiring new terns as the development of their brains is deteriorating with time. For example, according to the research from Harvard, Children absorb and remember new sentences faster than seniors. Nonetheless, there are also numerous detrimental influences of learning a new language in primary school on children’s growth. One of the major drawbacks is that they might suffer identity crisis. To be specific, language is not only a means of communicating with others from other countries, but also a part of culture. Thus, multilingual children might easily be confused by who they are. Furthermore, since primary schoolchild have not entirely acquired their mother tongue yet, they find it difficult to follow the class if they set aside time learning another language. From my experience, children who have been raised by a multicultural family receive worse scores than monolingual primary students. In conclusion, it might be beneficial for children to acquire foreign languages as early as possible. However, there are also a number of consequences to ponder.