Ownership of mobile phones has risen dramatically in recent years despite the potentially harmful effects they may have on our health and on society. Governments should introduce measures to restrict ownership of mobile phones to those who need them for their work.

Technology has unlocked many impossible in the few decades and cell phone is one of them. Today, it is difficult to even think about a day with out a mobile device, even though it carries potential harm to health by its usage. There are arguments that, the government should pitch in and control the usage by limiting the ownership based on requirements. But I personally disagree this argument and this essay will discuss why with reasons and examples. First of all, it is true that mobile phones enable one to one communication at any time anywhere, which is otherwise practically impossible. In other words, the mobile has become the part of a daily routine as we relay highly on this piece of tech so often every day. For instance, we do not afraid to travel alone or to go out in the night like earlier, as we have this communication device comes in handy as we possess. No matter where we are, as long as we do have a functioning cell phone with us, the security is promised. Secondly, it is a personal choice to make, when it comes to a decision of owning a commercially available technology and government should not put any regulation over it. It is true that, cell phone radiations are very harm full and can generate health issues, if used continuously. But everyone has their own freedom to decide what to buy and it is not okey to tie their hands by introducing a limit. For example, if the government decide to restrict the number of automobiles by controlling the ownership, to reduce air pollution, eventually that will lead to other commute problems and it will be far worse than polluting the air. In fact, the government can take measures with manufactures to see the effects are reduced rather than limiting the owners. In conclusion, the advantages mobile phones bring on the table outrage the effects caused by the usage and hence it is not a good idea for government to interfere and control the number of buyers. However, the effects maybe restricted by other means.