Overcrowding in cities is often created when people move from rural to urban areas. What are some problems associated with overcrowding? What can governments do to prevent this issue?

With urban areas becoming a cynosure of opportunities, an increasing number of rural folk are migrating to urban areas which has led to overcrowding in the urban areas. But is it the source of all problems that urban areas face? This trend has probably caused a cataclysmic reaction leading to reduction in the number of employment opportunities and upticks in the consumption percentages of the urban areas leading to resource starvation. Therefore, it can safely be deduced that this said relocation is the root of some, if not all, of the problem urban areas face due to overcrowding. In order to rectify this problem before it becomes a threat to growth and quality of life in the urban areas, the government needs to not only take effective measures but also proactive action. This does not entail shutting down avenues for this relocation such as factories, plants, blue collar employment, etc. rather the government could, chiefly, focus on a phased, systematic but most of all a fair movement plan which guarantees opportunity sharing and promises future development in the rural areas. All in all, this problem can neither be understood nor rectified in isolation and thus, a more inclusive approach needs to be adopted. In today's fluid and permeable society, a holistic outlook needs to be embraced which guarantees not just equality but justice to the urban residents and rural inhabitants alike and might just bring us a step closer to a better tomorrow.