organic and inorganic farming

Isn’t it surprising, organic farming is three times more expensive in comparison to convention farming, yet its sales show a bullish pattern in recent times? Observing the demand for organic farming, the land used for organic farming has increased, but in a country like India, it still occupies only 1% of the total land used in agriculture. Moreover, organic farming is labor-oriented so, it requires more labor to harvest and fertilize crops, so it increases the semi-variable cost of production. In addition, the manure and compost are natural fertilizers that are used to provide nutrition to crops, these fertilizers are not expensive, but it raises the production time, and its productivity is low which is also a contributing factor for more cost. Despite being expensive its demand has shown an upward trend due to its capacity of giving healthy nutrition and vitamins to the human body. The main significance of organic farming is to focus on quality other than quantity. Nowadays, people are very conscious about their health, and they want to eat foods that are free from chemicals no matter the price they have to pay for it, in this matter organic farming plays a significant role to deliver pesticides free food to individuals. Organic farming is not only fruitful for health but also to ecosystem for clean air, in terms of utilizing eco – friendly fertilizers. Discarding the consumption of genetically modified crops (GMO) has given health awareness and fasten the demand for organically produced food. Considering the increasing awareness of healthy eating, the need to raise productivity in organic farming is must to fulfill the upcoming demand.