Opinions divide concerning what plays a more important role in people's personality development, nature or nurture. What is your opinion?

The idea of nature-versus-nurture has long been debated, with no conclusive resolution. People are faced with an apparent paradox: while some studies have ascertained that no nexus exists between genes and behavioral patterns, anecdotal evidence suggests that it is not a foregone conclusion. This essay is to evaluate these two schools of thoughts, with some facts being closely examined. It is still a myth why some children, born in affluent families and raised in a positive enriching environment, still embark on a career of crime and self-destruction. It points to factors outside of the parental and educational environment; or in plain words, it could be traced back to genetics and thus a natural progression. It must be remembered that life is not simple. Nor is any human being. Even though environment is so overwhelming that it either suppresses or fortifies personality traits of individuals, individuals differ from each other in many aspects, rather than show identical traits. Genetic difference shows its effect from as early as one's preschool years, throughout adolescence and into adulthood. The impacts of nature seem sizeable in some other cases. For example, a couple can give birth to twins who resemble each other in both appearance and behavior. Ruthlessly separated at birth, and brought up in completely different environment, the twins would most likely grow into identical adults, developing extremely similar characteristics and even showing the same likes and dislikes. So striking are the effects of their genetic make-up that those of the environment are obscured. Despite the strong proof that nature is responsible for one's behavior, it is not to deny the function of the environment people are raised in. Studies show that many young criminals come from problem families, who have a history of violence and crime. Without good job prospects. , they end up with finding solace in gangs. The circle of poverty and crime will continue, as these young criminals start new families with the characteristics of their own. As suggested above, people are made up by both learned and born traits. There is no need to reach a conclusion that either environment or nature plays a decisive part in one's character and behavior development. Although the effect of genetic heredity is overt, one cannot afford to ignore that of environment where a child is brought up.