Opinion on Overweight People Straining Health Care System

The increasing population of those who are overweight hinders the health care system from solving the comorbidities associated with this problem. Moreover, there are those who believe that the key to solve this issue is to introduce lessons on sports and exercise in schools. I completely agree that this is the best way to tackle the issue on public health deterioration in connection with weight. Firstly, once schools introduce physical education to its learners, an awareness regarding obesity and weight gain can develop self – consciousness which eventually affects the health care system, globally. In other words, children are now more knowledgeable and cautious of the food they might be consuming and they will also be motivated to engage in more physical activities resulting to a decline in the proportion of overweight people. This knowledge gained can be passed down to their future children which further declines the population of those who are obese and at the same time, helping the health care industry in addressing this issue. Therefore, the more aware the student become, the more they will avoid a lifestyle that contributes to this issue. Another point to consider is that a variety of sports and exercises introduced can pique a child’s interest. With that being said, students now have more options to explore a possible area of sports they may desire and even grow their social network. Consequently, a growth in their social relationships will help them stay motivated in maintaining their fitness and health. For instance, I once had a friend who decided to enroll herself to a gym and there, she found a partner she can enjoy running and even enjoy badminton with which resulted to more calories lost. To conclude, in order to help the health care system in addressing a global problem of people who are unfit and overweight, introducing a selection of sports to students is the easiest and most effective methods.