One year ago we introduced our first product, Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Although the companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us b

In the memo, it can be learned that the director of Bargain Brand Cereal attempted to broad their business and sell more low price food. What motived him to make such decision is the success of the company’s cereal business. Although his argument may seem to be reasonable at the first glimpse, it is vulnerable to refutations since it is based on several untenable line of reasonings. First of all, the leader of Bargain Brand Cereal believes that their strategy in selling cheap cereal is successful. Therefore, this indicated that low-priced products are alluring for customers. Nevertheless, since the only data he has is the statistics last year, the argument is in fact tenuous. There may be possibilities that consumers are no longer interested in the low priced cereals in the future. As a result, in order to make such an argument amenable, the director should extend the length of observation. Another reason why his recommendation may sound unfounded is he attempts to extend the experience on cereal to other product without any reason. The customers of different food may be extremely heterogeneous. Thus, the success on cereal should not be apply to other products. Besides, is it possible that alternative factors may actually be the motive for people to buy the cereal Bargain Brand Cereal produced? This may be a better reason to explain why other companies can’t surpass in this market by undercutting their price. The condiments they add in the cereal, or the shape of them, may be the reason why kids preferred them than other products, which made the parents bought the, more often, If this the reason why Bargain Brand Cereal made a huge success in cereal, then introducing new cheap products won’t be a wise decision. Most importantly, based on previous success, the authority of Bargain Brand Cereal decided not only to introduce more products, they also seeks to extend their business. Where their markets were weren’t given, and it may be merely a satellite city which population isn’t large. It may be questioned if applying such experience to more competitive cities reasonable. The reason why their business was successful previously may be tributes to fewer rivalries, and the situations may be really different if they attempt to enlarge their business. The reasons given above explains why the suggestion given by the director of Bargain Brand Cereal isn’t reasonable. The business probably need to broach a discussion before final decision have been made.