A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting lethargy and other signs of illness After the recall the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food an

A pet food company had to recall four million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that the pets started showing symptoms, similar to illness after consuming the company's pet food. As a result, the company conducted a few tests on the samples of recalled pet food and concluded that the chemicals used in the pet food were approved for usage. Therefore, the company is of the opinion that the recalled food is not responsible for the pet's condition and it should not devote further resources to the investigation. The claim by the company looks legible, although, a closer look unearths a few possibilities that could call into question the company's claim about it's pet food. Firstly, the company states that they themselves conducted the tests on the recalled food samples. What if the company have published dubious results of the tests in order to clear its name of any wrong doing? What if the food samples indeed consisted of chemicals that were not authorized by the food department? This would mean that the sickness, portrayed by the pets were indeed due to the pet food, developed by the company. To ensure impartial results, the tests should be conducted by a neutral body. Secondly, even if we assume that the tests conducted were truly impartial, the statement does not specify the number of times these tests were conducted. What if the tests were conducted only once? What if a second test gives out results that highlight the use unsafe chemicals? Moreover, what if the testing equipment were faulty and they give out erroneous results? This could mean that the results published by the company are not credible, and extensive testing is necessary to categorically state if the pet food samples are safe or no. Lastly, the company fails to provide the metrics against which the results of the experiments were tested. What if the metrics that the company employees currently is outmoded? Hence, it could be possible that the chemicals, previously considered safe, are not safe anymore. This discrepancy in metrics could explain the reason behind the pet owners thinking that the pet food by the company is making their animals sick whereas the company refutes it. In sum, the evidence provided by the company is not categorical. As we have seen in the paragraphs above, multiple alternative possibilities cast a doubt on the company's claim regarding the safety of its products. Therefore, it is up to the company now to provide more convincing and irrefutable evidence to the pet-owners