The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore a chain of movie rental stores In order to stop the recent decline in our profits we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore s ten movie rental stores Since we are famous for o

A memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore has stated that the movie-rental store has recently been facing a decline in their profits. In order to counter-act such a problem, the owner has suggested measures to reduce the operating costs, and has provided the example of a store in downtown Marston wherein the owner's suggested measures have been implemented. The owner is of the opinion that if such measures are implemented across all the Movies Galore stores, their profits will soon start to rise. The evidence provided by the owner seems legible at first glance, although a closer examination might unearth a few alternate possibilities, which might undermine the owner's position. Firstly, the owner has suggested that operating cost of stores can be reduced by closing them at 6: 00 P. M. rather than at 9: 00 P. M. By closing the stores three hours earlier, thw owner thinks that the operating costs can be reduced without jeopardizing their position as a store which offers great movies at lower prices. Such a situation might hold true, but what if in other areas, where Movies Galore operates, people appraoch the store at later hours of the day? If such a measure is implemented, there will be a sense of resentment among it's customers as customers will not be able to buy the movies at time which is suitable for them. As a result, there is a likelihood that these people will approach another store to buy movies which would seriously hamper the profits of Movies Galore and undermine the owner's suugestion. Secondly, the owner is of the opinion that stores should discard movies which have been released more than five years ago. The owner assumes that these movies will no longer be viewed by it's customers, and discarding these movies will help reduce operations cost. The owner has based such a suggestion on a wild assumption. What if the people, in one of the areas where Movies Galore operates, have an inclination for old movies? If such a case appears, then it would be likely that these customers would be disappointed since Movies Galore does not have older movies anymore. As a result, the customers of Movies Galore will search for new stores where all sorts of movies are available. This situation would add to the woes, already faced by Movies Galore and it will call into question, the owner's suggested plan of action. Lastly, the owner has failed to provide sufficient demographic data about the different areas where Movies Galore has it's movie rental stores. It could be possible that some areas where Movies Galore stores are situated do not bring any revenue to the company. It might be the case that the people in these areas prefer watching the movies on other online platforms. If such information is received from the demographic study, it would be ideal for the owner to shut down these stores. Such a situation might help the owner to direct resources to other stores which are doing better and it might be the case that the profits of Movies Galore returns, without having to cut operating costs. In sum, the evidence provided by the arguer is incomplete and inconsequential. The evidence are dubious in nature and point towards various alternate possibilities. As a result, it cannot be categorically stated if the owner's new approach, to conter-act the declining profits will be successful.