One way to solve the problem of congestion is to increase tax on private vehicles. Do the advantages of this solution outweigh its disadvantages?

In this dynamic era, the world has been suffering from a conscious threat which is traffic congestion, which can solve by some pragmatic remedies from both: individuals and government. As into, "Prevention is better than cure". Some people believe that the way is to solve the traffic problem is to hike the tax on private vehicles. However, other people are against it. In my opinion, most of the time it can be fruitful, yet we cannot overlook the downsides. Hence, the advantages are more than disadvantages. Reasons for my inclination are articulated in the ensuing paragraphs. To commence with, there are many factors that support this statement. On the bright side, the population has been hiking by leaps and bounds which encourage private transportation. To illustrate, it is observed that today at every home there are personal vehicles for each family member. So thus, people can use their private vehicles to commute, which leads to traffic jams. If the government increases the tax on private vehicles, then due to that people can use public transportation instead of private vehicles. Additionally, it will aid to protect the environment. For example, the use of excessive public transportation pollution will be reduced. In sharp contrast, there are some critics of it as well. On the downside, for some people, private vehicles are a necessity. For instance, people who are working and their jobs are finished late at night or the area in which they are working there are no public vehicles available, for that people private vehicles are boon. Moreover, in emergency cases, private transportation is beneficial to use. To conclude, I opine that there are innumerable strong factors supporting to rise the tax on private vehicles, however, its contrary cannot be overlooked.