One of the most important issues facing the world today is a shortage of food and some think genetically modified foods are a possible solution.

Scarcity of food has become the most pressing issue across the globe in this contemporary era for which, it is being suggested that this problem can be mitigated by adapting the genetically modified foods. This essay firmly advocates this notion since with the introduction of GM crops, variety in fruits and vegetables have surged that is quite beneficial. Even, these crops are found to produce more quantity in lesser time. To commence with the principle reason, the research and development into genetically modified foods has bestowed humanity with higher range of eatables. As a result, there are ample of alternative food items when the naturally-grown crops fail to satisfy the hunger or this can also be considered as reduced burden on these crops. For an instance, the bell peppers were introduced which were mutated with the genes of capsicum that has widened the options of vegetable for consumers. Therefore, this cross-breeding method is no less than a blessing. Besides this, ever-increasing population has grown the concern about shortage of food but with aid of genetic modification, the crops not only grow in abundance but also quicker. This has assisted humanity to feed themselves and even, eliminate the grave issues of starvation and malnutrition. The best example for this would be USA which has higher yield, that is why, it is able to lend a hand to the underdeveloped nations such as Uganda with the provision of food to satisfy their hunger. Thus, higher productivity in less time due to these crops has made it desirable approach. To reiterate, it can be said that undoubtedly, the genetic engineering of food has revolutionized the ways food is grown as it has led to diversity of food products along with more quantity in minimum time possible, thereby, being highly conducive approach.