Many people believe that family members have less communication with each other compared to the past.

Driven by advances in technology, human life has been revolutionised in recent years. However, many people think that communication among family members has decreased in comparison to the past. I personally agree with this statement as I firmly believe that technology and modern lifestyle have brought adverse effects in this regard. First and foremost, in spite of the ease and comfort in communication provided by technology, people are less in contact with their relatives from what they used to be. For example, with the advent of video calls, weakly family gatherings and meetings have been limited to occasional events, especially on holidays, which can negatively affect relationships' quality. As a result, not only modern tools for communication, such as mobile phones and social media, have not improved our relationship with our loved ones, but they are one of the main culprits of its reduction as well. Furthermore, being under pressure of workload in the industrialised world has limited our ability to spend some quality time with each other at home. These restrictions are due to the fact that nowadays sometimes more than one person in a family should work to meet the household budget, which can go far more than eight to ten hours per day. So, even if they had enough time, they would probably be so tired to fully engage with family matters. While some people have reached a level of conformity with this modern lifestyle, many are struggling with its negative impacts on communication within families. In conclusion, I assert that communication between family members has decreased compared to the past, amplified by technological progress and an industrialised lifestyle.