One of the most important issues faced by the world today is the shortage of food and some think genetically modified foods are a possible solution.

In this small planet where resources are limited, more and more population is lacking food to eat and is being a major issue as of now. This crisis has led to creation of genetically modified foods as a possible counter to this problem. I partially agree to this statement that it can be a possible solution. Firstly, with continuous consumption of natural resources, it is inevitable that living beings will slowly lack food to have which may even pose a threat to the existence of all life on earth as hunger may drive species into madness and many criminal activities and breaking of laws wouldn’t be something surprising. For instance, a man driven with hunger may rob or even kill someone for their own survival as the time will force them to only think about themselves rather than others well being. Therefore, for survival, genetically modifying the foods may prove itself as best path to walk on to help avert the crisis because it can help to at least fill their stomachs and ease them to think rationally. On the contrary, it has one severe demerit as well, if the foods genes are changed or modified, they will slowly lose its originality. There may be food to eat for everyone but with time the predecessors of the foods will slowly disappear and this will cause disruption in natural way of order which may invite many others disasters as well. For instance, if vegetables are modified, other insects may not be able to adapt to the change or dislike those vegetables preventing them from getting close. Because of this pollination will not be possible if insects do not get close to the vegetables which will affect other plants and vegetations as well. To conclude, these foods can definitely be something that can change the fate of dying from hunger by filling up stomachs when there's nothing to eat successfully avoiding various conflicts and keeping them rational but at the huge cost that is; loss of original species and possibly impending natural disasters.