One of the major issues facing the world today is overpopulating. What problems arise from this situation? What measures can be taken to deal with it?

There is no doubt that the massive increase of global population has created a crisis. Finding the right policies to deal with this is a major issue for governments worldwide. This essay will discuss the problem caused by overpopulation and suggest some measures that might be taken to help deal with this complex matter. The consequences of overpopulation are numerous. Perhaps the most significant effect is the increased rate the human race is consuming the earth’s resources like oil and coal. Indeed some experts predict that the fossil fuel supply will be exhausted within the next 50 years, which will have an enormous ramification for all sectors. Another negative effect of overpopulation is that some countries suffer from insufficient agriculture to feed their citizens. Without more efficient farming techniques, faming could threaten many lives. Clearly, the situation is dire. To combat this, governments need to take action. One option is to increase investment in research into alternative energies, which would ensure that scientist are able to study and experiment. In terms of food shortages, greater international cooperation could be encouraged. Countries with a food surplus, for instance, could donate what they do want need to less fortunate nations, while expertise too should be shared globally to help improve crop yields and farming practices. Ultimately, in order to manage the pressure of growing population, nations need to work together. In conclusion, population growth is inevitable. While it may be possible to find ways to prevent famine and replace fossil fuels, greater investment from governments and more cooperation global leaders is essential.