one of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Modern medical facilities and research in the healthcare sector have brought miracles to the world. We have cures for deadly diseases and researchers are working with our genes to prevent diseases even before we are born- marvellous indeed. As a result, people these days live longer. This as an alarming trend according to some while I firmly believe that longer life expectancy offers far many advantages than demerits. Many people opine that increasing life expectancy increases the ratio of the older population and shrink the active workforce. Thus they believe supporting the old generation is a burden for the country. But, this opinion is misguided and not backed by facts. With an increasing life expectancy, people these days remain more active and contribute to society even in their old age. As the government has raised the retirement age, old people are no longer a burden, rather an active workforce. To cite an example, professors, researchers, lawmakers, writers and many other professionals have vast experience and could contribute even more in their old age. Thus, when a physicist discovers a groundbreaking theory in his or her 70s, we should thank the enhanced medical research and treatment. Finally, as the number of working parents is heightening, grandparents are the last hope for young children. Older people are doing us a favour by taking most of our family burdens. Besides, people who we consider no longer useful to the society due to their age, have gifted us the world we live in today with their hard work, tax money and love. To conclude, thanks to the enhanced medical facilities due to which we now live longer and be part of the progress. This enhanced life expectancy is a blessing for the human race.