One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantage of this development outweighs the disadvantages?

The average life expectancy is increasing these days owing to advances in medicine. As a result, it is expected that the share of elderly in the population will outperform the share of young people in future. Despite there are some drawbacks of this process that ought to be taken into account, I am convinced that the advantages it brings clearly outweigh any disadvantages. First and foremost, providing an opportunity to live longer simply means saving lives. During previous decades, people lived for ten years less, on average, in comparison with the current median lifespan. Hence, this extra time gives an opportunity to enjoy life, have a pleasant retirement or help younger generations with vast experience and wisdom. For example, if the famous scientist Daniel Kanneman had lived longer, he could have discovered more cognitive laws and thus help mankind. Nevertheless, some issues have to be taken into account. The most significant problem that comes with older people outnumbering younger is an increasing burden on society. In other words, working people will be obliged to cover pension payments of even a greater number of individuals. Another possible issue that may arise is difficulties in building a career. As far as many top positions will be occupied by old people, young professionals will struggle to have a promotion. For example, in the countries with a longer average lifespan, such as the USA, a medium age of managers is 15 years higher than in countries where people live less, such as Brazil. In conclusion, despite some problems that an increasing lifespan provokes may arise, I believe that human life is priceless. So, all these issues are relatively minor in comparison with the advantages of longer lives. Thus benefits of this development clearly outweigh any of the disadvantages.