One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweighs the disadvantages?

The development in science and technology has led to improved medical and healthcare systems all around the world. Better medical and health facilities have increased the life expectancy of adults. This advancement brings with its own advantages and challenges. With the improvised health and medical care, we can detect the early stages of disease such as cancer, tuberculosis, heart problems, etc. Detecting a disease at an early stage means being able to tackle it quicker and living for more years to come. This also has its own challenges. With increase in older population in countries across the globe, there will be certain amount of pressure on the governments to take care of them. Government will need to invest its resources on taking care of the ageing population. It also means commercialization of old age homes. An increasing older population might invest their life savings in taking care of themselves through these old age homes. If there is an increase in older population and decrease in younger population then the productivity of a nation may decrease since there are less young people in the nation to form a productive taskforce. The best example of this will be Japan. Japan has what is called as ‘ageing population. ’ The demography of Japan is interesting to note since they have more number of older population. There has been decline of birth rates in Japan which is seen as alarming. Hence, advancement of medical and health care systems has led to increase in life expectancy but has created obstacles for the government and civil society to deal.