one of the challenges for all kinds of sensors

one of the challenges for all kinds of sensors is the interference of humidity in the performance and response of the sensors. In colorimetric sensors, sensing probes are usually located on a solid surface, which includes a plate, membrane, or film, and the analytes are either actively introduced within the gas phase or passively diffused into a reaction chamber, wherein they confront sensing probes and react. the subsequent processes as proven in figure35 are concerned in this form of reaction (gas-solid): (1) adsorption of analyte molecules on the substrate surface. (2) the penetration and diffusion of analyte molecules within the substrate matrix and (3) the chemical reaction among the gas analyte and the sensing probes that causes a color change in the substrate. Moisture can intervene with colorimetric sensing via physical or chemical interaction. physically, water molecules can be absorbed on the surface of sensing probes, substrates, or optical components that result in physical changes in the sensing device, inclusive of increased layer thickness or swelling of hydrogels, a polymer matrix often utilized in color sensing systems. it's far possible that this sort of moisture effect is reversible due to the fact it is only physical adsorption−desorption interaction. Chemical changes because of humidity are more complex. diffusion of water vapor into the hydrophobic plastic film in a solid-state colorimetric sensor should potentially cause some plasticization within the matrix, leading to elevated sensitivity. For some colorimetric sensors, water molecules participate in the chemical reaction, and ambient humidity can play a subtle role in affecting the sensor. In some colorimetric systems, water can catalyze a chemical reaction, that's why more recent colorimetric systems use hydrogels, which increase sensitivity and catalysis, and actually, increase the reaction speed and response of the sensor. In fact, the effect of humidity on the sensor system can be used to enhance the performance of sensors to detect analytes. This method is typically used in the detection of breath biomarkers due to the fact the moisture level in exhaled breath is high and consistent, but if it could be various in the environment [352].