One common school of thought in previous decades was that workers should follow a specific dress code.

One common school of thought in previous decades was that workers should follow a specific dress code. However, in the present era, other features are considered above all. Both views seem to have certain pros and cons, which companies should concern about. On the one hand, what brings positive mental effects to individuals, especially in large- scale and public organizations, is wearing formal uniforms and accessories. By this I mean that rules and guidelines on how employees dress up are set to create serious images for the public and to introduce and represent the culture of companies, or even the countries. For instance, Singapore Airlines, one of a five- star airline companies (rated by Skytrax in 2020) refreshed their staff uniforms with the traditional “Sarong Kebaya”. This allowed them to advertise the Singaporean’s traditions and make their workforce look better, smarter, and suitable for the business. In addition, formal dress codes not only enhance productivity, but merely strengthen teamwork. On the other hand, casual and comfortable clothes are highly recommended in a plethora of workplaces. How indoor workers dress seems not to be important, compared to their contributions and achievements. To promote this culture, both the two giants of the tech industry, Apple and Google, forced their employees to wear T-shirts and jeans in offices, but not boring and immaculate white shirts. Also, no way can they improve their creativity and work with firm and hot suits. All in all, from my own point of view, I firmly believe that dress codes are essential to certain fields of business, whereas others have found this unnecessary. Thus, the company directors ought to base on the requirements of the business and delineate appropriate rules.