ome people believe that students work better if the teacher is strict; others think it is better for students, if the teacher has a friendly approach.

Some people believe that teachers who use a friendly approach in their teaching methods actually encourage their students to enjoy class more than when they are strict. That’s because of a number of reasons. The first reason is that the students won’t have to worry about being scolded in front of their classmates in case their work is not at a satisfactory level. Another reason is the friendly approach which allows the students to relax and worry less in class, therefore allowing them to properly concentrate in their studies. A third and final reason which strongly supports this view is from a study made at Oxford University, the findings showed a positive correlation between the friendliness of the teachers compared to student grades. Students achieved higher grades in subjects where teachers were more lenient with their students and befriended them. On the other hand, the people who believe that teachers need to be stricter in class seem to be of older age than young parents who are in favor of the first approach. That is because the previous generation had it rough growing up. The older generation lived through world wars and life was much tougher than nowadays. Most if not all children grew up in a much stricter household back then, and parents expected schools to teach them manners and discipline similar to how parents taught their kids at home. In conclusion, I believe from my personal experience that a teacher can demand respect from his or her students by being friendly and polite, thus demanding the same to be reciprocated. That method would most definitely drive students to be more disciplined in class and perform much better without having the necessity of imposing fear in education.