Of course there have to be limits to free speech! Even in the most democratic countries it is illegal to incite hatred - I mean to encourage people to harm others, minority groups for example

There has been considerable debate in recent years over the role of free speech in a free society. Some object to absolute freedom of speech. Others advocate free speech, arguing that the ability to tolerate different points of view is a hallmark of civilized society. Whilst I acknowledge that there are strong arguments on both sides, I would suggest that freedom of speech should be protected in all but extreme circumstances. In this essay, I will outline two main reasons. Firstly, if people are not allowed to express their views freely, they may choose to take action instead. This is how the communist regimes of Eastern Europe were toppled in the 1980s. The same is happening again in other regions of the world today. People may choose to behave destructively, to riot, for example, when they have no other means of being heard. Secondly, history shows that great thinkers of the past have often been censored for ideas that are now widely accepted as valid. The sixteenth-century astronomer Galileo, for example, was condemned for advocating a sun-centered theory of the solar system. More recently, many dissident writers, scientists, and thinkers who had been silenced in the former Soviet Bloc have come to be celebrated for their achievements. In short, freedom of speech is essential for a peaceful, just, and progressive society. It may be challenging for society to allow differences of opinion out into the open; however, the consequences of restricting free speech are likely to be more damaging in the longer term.