Obesity in children increasing rapidly. Causes and reasons?

In western countries, over the last 10 years, the proportion of obese children are constantly elevating by 20%. Poor diet and sedentary lifestyle are the major reasons behind it. Physical health problems and loss of productivity are the effects of obesity. To begin, unhealthy eating habits are the foremost cause of obesity. Especially, children who live in the US and Europe are addicted to junk foods that are rich in carbohydrates and excessive fat. This leads to enormous consumption of calories. Recent research shows, 60-70% of children who consumed fast food easily become obese. Secondly, children prefer an effortless and cosy lifestyle and they are mostly hesitant to engage in physical games or outdoor activities. As a result, they become sedentary in their day to day activities subsequently, children are prone to diseases like diabetes and heart problems. The number of children who take medication for such disease is increasing day by day in western lands, reveals recent WHO reports. Another side effect to be considered is that in obese children the rate of metabolism would be decreasing which leads to fatigue and have poor concentration in their studies. there are many studies to support the fact that the IQ level in obese children is poor. To sum up, higher consumption of fast food and lack of outdoor activities are the prime reasons for overweight. And such children may be affected with severe health problems and they would be less productive.