Nowdays museums and historical places are mainly visited by tourists instead of locals. Why this is happening. What are the solutions for this?

Museums and historical places around the world hold significance as they have valuable artifacts that are not available elsewhere. Though museums attract a lot of tourists, the locals do not consider local museums and historical places entertaining. There are several reasons why local residents do not find museums interesting. First and foremost, the local habitants have been brought up in those areas and have seen the historical places of their area hence these historical places might not arouse their interests anymore. The locals prefer visiting faraway lands and exploring other historical places in comparison to the local places. The hefty entrance fee that historical museums charge may not seem feasible to the locals. There are several actions that can be taken with the intention to appeal to the local population to visit the local museums. Primarily, community activities being organized by the museum like exhibitions and cultural events will help gain its popularity as most of these historical places are non-profit organizations. The media can also use used as a source to commercialize and promote museums at a local level. A subsidized amount of fee charged from the natives will also attract a large number of local history enthusiast to pay a visit to these historical sights. To conclude, museums and historical landmark play a crucial role in understanding the culture and the historical background of a particular area. If the locals pay more attention to local museums, it will make them more popular on a larger scale therefore, attract more tourists. The government can also provide attractive offers to natives to visit the historical sights.