nowadays young people spend too much of their free time in shopping malls. Some people think that this may have negative effects on young people and the society they live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are those who opine that the practice of spending too much time in shopping centres could be detrimental for young people and the society as a whole. I completely agree with this view. According to me, if youngsters spend too much time on buying or in malls, it can hurt not only their academic performance but also their financial situation since this requires both time and money. There are some reasons to support my view. To begin with, When young people become obsessed with purchasing, they will find themselves in serious financial crisis. If they hang out in the malls, they may incline toward to obtain numerous things even if they do not truly require them. For instance, many young girls are willing to pay a high price for cloths that are made by famous brand only for show-off purpose. As this requires money, youngsters will have to find a source of income. Consequently, some of them may choose to job part-time or some might even quit their studies and work full time. Both are harmful to their academic progress and career. Working part-time might diminish the amount of time they can focus on their academic achievements and hence influence their grades. Consequently, they would not get sufficiently paid job. In addition, Excessive purchasing also affects the society. By spending money on unnecessary possession, they fall into the debt trap. This is disastrous for the community as well. After wasting their whole pocket money, youngsters may get into illegal activities like robbery, shoplifting or even smuggling. All of these has a detrimental effect on society. In short, shopping is good so long as it is done in moderation. If young people devour an excessive amount of time in malls, they will not have much time to focus on their studies and they will also fall into debt. Obviously, this impairs them as well as their society.