Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

It is thought by some educationalists that children can benefit from being taught a second language earlier. I believe that merits are overshadowed by demerits. In terms of advantages of learning a foreign language at primary school, it is worth mentioning that it is easier for a child to pick up a second language at an early age. At the primary school, pupils do not have heavy school tasks to deal with, and it allows them to dedicate more time for language learning which can improve their efficiency of language education. By contrast, at secondary school, students are under pressure from numerous disciplines such as physics and chemistry. Therefore, if learning a new language is added to the high school curriculum, this wide diversity of lessons might prevent pupils from concentrating on language study. On the other hand, a strong argument can be made on the opposite side. Introduction of a foreign language during elementary schooling could negatively influence and delay development of child's first language, and some pupils at primary school may get confused by being trained in both native tongue and foreign language since they do not attain a high level of proficiency in their mother tongue. Additionally, if new language training becomes an essential part of the elementary school education, young children may lose the opportunity to enjoy their childhood since they have to spend most of their time studying, and time for play is markedly reduced for children. In conclusion, while educating children to be multilingual from a young age promotes better language skills, improvement of their first language may be faced with some problems.