You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 254 words.

Nowadays it is commonly observed that amount of garbage has been drastically increased and still it is increasing. There are several reasons for this issue, out which I will be explaining the two major ones in the following paragraph and also be suggesting the necessary steps that the government can take towards the solution of this problem. Firstly the prime cause behind the high production of rubbish is the plastic packaging of food items. It has been seen that majority of our food items like fruits, vegetables come in a packaged form which has no use once the main product is out of the wrapper. Therefore the plastic packages left behind are directed towards the garbage bin. Another prime factor for the rise in the amount of litter is the print papers. It is very common that everyone receives some documents like a bank statement, payment reminder letter in paper format through mail or very often unnecessary documents like deal flyers we receive in our mailbox, which we throw them in the garbage after seeing. Paper waste like this comes in a hefty amount from each and every household. As above mentioned reasons are associated with the basic and important life need of a person therefore they are the main cause which leads to more production of rubbish. There are two remedial measures that the government can take to limit the numbers of produced garbage. The very first step is to ban the packaging of food items like fruit, vegetables, and other groceries which does not require wrapping. This will result in a huge drop in the number of garbage produced from the packets. Another step could be taken by the authorities to promote the use of electronic media to send the information. The paper documents like reminder letters, job offer letters, bank statements, flyers could be sent to the consumers by using email services or mobile applications. As every individual is having access to a smart cellphone and internet package, therefore, it will be very easy to implement this measure successfully. As a result, the amount of rubbish will drop significantly. In a nutshell, according to my perspective, the unnecessarily packaged food items and paper documents which we bring and receive respectively in heavy amount every month are paying major contribution in the rise of the amount of garbage. Therefore, applying a ban on food packaging and shifting to electronic mode of communication would play a significant role in reducing the amount of rubbish.