Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

It has been observed that humans are contributing to production and accumulation of garbage. In my opinion, this is happening due to increased urbanization and industrialization. The government should form stricter policies to curb the rise of wastage to control pollution globally. Shifting of individuals from the rural to the urban sector has had adverse effects on the environment. One of the many effects is increase in garbage in the country. Usage of plastic products has increased, resulting in increase of non degradable waste. Daily lifestyle in cities is also a major factor in contributing to the cause of as the young working population is not aware about the effecient ways in which garbage needs to be managed. In addition to this, there is a sudden rise in construction of new industrial setups which also plays a major role in the rise of garbage in the country. People should move towards usage of environment friendly products like sustainable packaging, bio degradable waste etc. The government can play a major part in reducing the garbage by putting restrictions on use of plastic. Although there have been certain bans levied by the government in the past but those were not taken seriously by the public as there was minimal penalty fee to the offender. Firstly, they should increase the penalty fee citizens are proven guilty. Secondly, they should provide incentives and subsidies to industries which reduce waste production and are also involved in activities which benefit the environment. To conclude, each individual needs to play their part in the betterment of their surroundings and the environment by reducing the waste and garbage around them. This can be done by using degradable plastics and sustainable packaging. The factories and companies should aim at reducing waste and focus more on corporate social responsibility activities. Lastly, the government should keep a check on the accumulation of garbage, the reason behind it and it should ensure strict adherence of rules and regulations formed to reduce it.