Nowadays, traffic jams are becoming a big problem in most cities and bigger towns. Some people believe that widening of roads is a solution to this problem.

The advent of automobiles marked the 20th century. With the rise of middle class in 21st century, the use of automobiles has dramatically increased. Although this increase has given people the freedom of travel, it has posed a serious concern in big towns and cities, the issue of traffic jams. To solve the problem, some people advised that the roads must be widened, but I believe that until and unless there is awareness amongst individuals, the problem may not be solved. Widening of roads may be one solution, but it might not be the most practical. We are living in such times, when we are facing environmental issues. The road widening project may involve cutting down more trees, which will not only affect the environment but also the animals living in the forests. This will disturb our food chain further and also pose grave issues to our existence. Even more, there is no guarantee that once we have broader roads, there won’t be any traffic jams. The population of the world has increased in the past 5 decades sharply and continues to grow. It will only lead to growing number of automobiles. However, if individuals are made aware of the consequences, chances are we might solve the problem without any further construction. People must be motivated to use public transport or share their transport as much as possible. Even more, the use of cycle must be promoted. For example-: China has made it compulsory for individuals to go to work on cycle. In this way, they have killed two birds with an arrow. The pollution levels have decreased and people have become healthier. Overall, I believe that the best way to reduce traffic is to use less automobiles. Awareness about it must be made in schools, colleges and workplaces. Extra awards or incentives could be provided to individuals who in some way are contributing towards the solution. Also, the companies or schools or colleges who work towards making it possible to reduce traffic jams, must be awarded.