Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected personal relationships? Has this become a positive or negative development?

Communication has seen a drastic change over the period of time. With the introduction of new advancements like mobile phones and internet, people have found an easier way of connecting with each other however, it also has substantial disadvantages like emotional deprivation and societal isolation. Firstly, lives have become convenient because of mobile phones. Today, people can contact their distant relatives and friends with ease. For example, unlike a few decades before, when people had to wait for days for messages to be delivered, now they are received instantly. In addition, internet has paced up the style of living. One can simply connect face to face via video calls instead of traveling to the person’s place to attend meetings or have a discussion. This saves time and can be utilized more efficiently. Thus, technology has brought improvements in the way we communicate. On the contrary, technology has taken away the emotional connect. People nowadays prefer conversing on phones where emotions are difficult to interpret. One cannot connect with the person as he might not understand how the other person is feeling just by reading a message. Apart from this, spending time on social media like Facebook and Instagram has isolated people from the community. Previously, locals would gather around to discuss their day-to-day life, now all these activities are done online with unknown people. Therefore, advancement in the way of communication has many disadvantages. To conclude, advantages of change in the way if interacting due to technology outweighs the disadvantages. Though people have disconnected emotionally and socially, at the same time, connecting with people living in far off places has become easier.