Some people decide to move to another country when they retire. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this practice?

Some elderly people are opting to settle abroad after their retirement. This trend has a certain merits such as financial incentives and new experiences, but there are some drawbacks as well such as feeling lonely and adjusting to cultural differences. To begin with, one evident benefit of moving to other country is the financial benefit. Many people receive a meager pension at their retirement and have a little support from the government. If they do not have family to live with, they have a prospect of living in poverty or just above subsistence in their final years. Hence, moving abroad to a country with low living cost will result in high standard of life. A For example hundreds of American retirees have settled in Philippines for a better life. Another advantage is that moving to a foreign land will allow people to have new experiences and do things they always wanted to do. For instance, a person who likes beaches could move to a tropical country and live a peaceful life. On the other hand, there are some setbacks of moving to a foreign land. For a start, moving to a new country means adapting to new environment. Some may find it difficult to get accustomed to new weather, food and culture. Also, they might experience language barrier which may result in awkward situations. Moreover, another key drawback is feeling lonely and isolated as there are no kith and kin around them. These reasons can result in physical and mental strain. In conclusion, the financial gains from residing abroad during retirement outweigh concerns about living conditions. Before making this decision it is important for each retired individual to weigh a number of factors pertaining to quality of life, finances, family and culture.