More and more businesses as well as individuals are choosing to communicate either professionally or socially using technology rather than being face to face. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using technology for communication.

The advent of technology has completely revolutionized the way people connect with each other. These days, people and organizations prefer to communicate through modern means rather than conventional face to face interaction. The advantages and disadvantages of this development will be discussed in this essay. To commence with, the major benefit of using advanced means of communication is that it has brought the world closer and encouraged companies to expand overseas. There is a plethora of organizations that are performing their functions worldwide. For instance, an Indian organization can easily work with American firms by connecting through email, phone or video calls. Furthermore, by communicating online, people could reduce the travel expenses considerably and also save a lot of time that would have been spent in commuting. Hence, it is more economical and efficient for a company as compared to in person interactions. On the other hand, excessive dependence on communication technologies has its own disadvantages. Firstly, people lose the personal connection when they refrain from face to face interactions. This can make them feel lonely and depressed as they are devoid of social life and can have a detrimental effect on their mental health. Also, chances of fraud increase as the physical identity of the person on the other side cannot be confirmed. For example, numerous people get mugged by fake callers claiming to be bank employees. To recapitulate, though technology has definitely made communication easier and more convenient, there are numerous disadvantages as well if it is used excessively. People should make a well informed choice taking into consideration all the merits and demerits.