It is said that only authorities and huge businesses can improve the environment, while individuals can do nothing to make a difference.

It is said that only authorities and huge businesses can improve the environment, while individuals can do nothing to make a difference. In my opinion, all people in the world could do something to make our environment better, both as individuals as well as governments and large companies. For that reason, I totally disagree with the statement above. There is no doubt that our environmental quality is continuously degrading all the time due to human activities, such as deforestation, unmanaged waste dumping, factories, the usage of vehicles, and so on. It is true that governments with their regulations and actions could control these activities to minimize their impact on the environment. In addition, big companies could also use their CSR to make some projects that improve the environmental quality. However, individuals could also contribute to making a better environment by taking simple actions with a large impact if it is done together with other individuals. For instance, by reducing the usage of plastic bags, a person could minimize the number of plastic bags that usually end up in the ocean. Imagine if this action is done by many people around the world, it certainly would give a significant result and eventually would lead to a cleaner ocean. Another simple action is to minimize the use of paper, so it would reduce the number of trees being cut to produce paper. These actions clearly would have a bigger result if the authorities and large businesses work together to lead these actions. Nevertheless, it doesn’t mean that individuals can do nothing to contribute to the improvement of environment. In conclusion, simple actions from individuals would clearly give impacts in the improvement of environment if it is done together. Moreover, the intervention of governments and companies would give a larger impact of these actions.