Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, advantages in technology have allowed governments, the police, and privately-owned companies to keep the public under constant surveillance. In many major cities and towns, security cameras are recording the movements of ordinary citizens. Whenever a cellphone is used, the call is logged, so the service provider knows exactly when and where the user made the call. Invisible satellites orbit the Earth, watching us whether we like it or not. Is this, however, a development we should welcome? Certainly, there are benefits. In areas where there is a high crime rate, the use of security cameras may act as a deterrent to crimes: if they can see the cameras, they may think twice about breaking into a building or stealing a car. If a crime is carried out, then a camera may provide useful evidence. The same true for a cellphone; the police sometimes rely on call logs to help them trace the whereabouts of suspects or victims. On the other hand, there are a number of concerns. In countries where human rights are ignored, the use of security cameras or listening devices may be harmful to society. People should be able to hold the meeting and express their opinions without their privacy being invaded. There is also a very different issue we should consider. Nowadays, many people upload their personal information and photographs onto social networking sites; they often do not realise how easy it is for other people to view this information or for the site owners to use the data or photographs for their own financial gain. To conclude, it seems inevitable that there will be more and more ways to monitor society in the future. However, it is our responsibility to evaluate new technology and device whether it will do more harm than good. Surely our freedom is more valuable than technological progress.