Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent world, augmented utilization of technology allowed observing people’s activities about which they are completely unknown. This essay will demonstrate how such monitoring can control criminal activities but also will show that this can lead to such problems as loosing privacy. Whilst acknowledging that there are drawbacks, the essay will argue that the merits of spying individuals outweigh the disadvantages. One of the major advantage is reduction in the rate of illegal activities. By tracing one’s gadgets can give access to watch their inappropriate actions which could be terminated before execution by the aid of local police. A good example of a city that is taking full advantage of such technology is Texas. Regions that were once dominated by culprit activities are now much under control of local cops. Furthermore, it also provided additional security to citizens by keeping an eye on their homes and working places. In China, for instance, the rate of stealing money and heist dramatically dropped by 70% after using such technological supports. However, on the flip-side, excessive monitoring of an individual could led to some issues. One of the most alarming of these is exposing private life of a person. By using the same means someone can blackmail others and demand money not to disclose their personal movements. To exemplify this, one recent news article revealed that local police threatened some families to forcefully gain some advantage of their situation in Russia. Hence, it is also required to keep away such technological facilities from the thieves and criminals. To conclude, although unprotected use of monitoring technologies can result into increase in transparency of people, it greatly lowers down the rate of local crimes. Therefore, the positive effects of such spying technology definitely outweigh the pitfalls.