Nowadays sports are a big business, with professional player earning high salary and a lot of companies involve both financially and in other ways. Is this the negative or positive developments for sports? (approximately 250 words)

It is true that currently sports are marketed by contracts in which large enterprises intervene in all aspects of these games. I believe that such a trend can be both positive and negative. On the one hand, the sports business has several perks. Firstly, it usually offers better conditions for athletes. Normally, large companies will make capital investments for sports gear and training centres to ensure that all sportsmen have the best practice environment and hence the possibility of winning the prestigious awards in the region and the world as well as the best wages for them. For instance, Puma had signed an agreement with Man City last year as a model for sports partnerships which is the second most valuable kit contract in the Premier League and it could help this club have a successful future. Secondly, the commercialization of sports is money-making due to the desire to buy goods and services of fans. Professional and college sports programs strike a strong emotional chord in their audiences, and therefore many conglomerates can claim greater brand loyalty to their businesses because money will follow the admiration of loyal sports viewers. On the other hand, there are many drawbacks to this trend despite these advantages mentioned above. The first downside could be that the martial spirit in sport is easily ruined by the attitude of winning at all costs, including cheating and breaking rules to win and make money. For example, many athletes who are under competitive pressure and forced to win often use performance-enhancing substances or become addicted to drugs or alcohol to relieve their psychology. Another negative point can be that sports personalities become a commodity on the market to trade and transfer. This can lead to them being constantly manipulated by investment companies, and the audience may find the results of the game untrue, as well as the value of sports training that is too commercial and thereby diminishing the meaning of sport in society. In conclusion, although sports merchandising or earnings from sport are beneficial for sportsmen and the economy, I believe that it is likely to have more harmful effects on the development of sports generally.