Nowadays, some people like to give help directly to communities that need it, whilst others prefer to give money to national or international organizations.

In recent times, there has been a heated debate about different ways to do charity work. Some choose to help and support straight to the local community while others prefer to make donations to national or international charities. This essay will first discuss these mentioned ways then indicate that there’s no need to compare the two ways since in whichever way the help itself is the most significant thing. On the one hand, the one who focuses on a particular community has a better understanding of that area’s status then provides it with appropriate help. This is to say, individuals can provide different types of support apart from financial aid namely physical, psychological, …which depend on what the community urgently needs. As a consequence, he can control what is currently happening there and ensure his work has the best results. For example, in remote areas, poor families wish they can have enough warm clothes as well as school stationery for their kids. Therefore, it’s much better to collect jackets, coats, trousers, … as well as books, notebooks, pens…beforehand to give them to those families – They must be happy and grateful. On the other hand, international charities can help societies over long distances since there are still several countries in poverty around the globe. In other words, helping people from these countries requires a detailed plan and large-scale actions which is believed to only be done by big national or international organizations with strong financial capability. Furthermore, the organizations must be able to negotiate with the local government before starting doing their work. This can be illustrated by the work of the United Nations Foundation, a worldwide organization that has an important impact on raising living standards throughout the world, especially in Africa. Until 2016, United Nations Foundation has built schools and provided medical help for Africans, which has extraordinary changes: 70% of poor children can go to school free and measles death decreased by 85 percent, … In conclusion, whether some prefer to provide assistance to people in the local community, others choose to make donations helping on a broader scale, this essay suggests that both approaches are efficient in appropriate situations and the effort put into helping the one in need is still the most vital part.